My Love Language

When I started looking into love languages in the past couple years, I kind of assumed that mine was receiving gifts.

But I decided to do some official digging and take a quiz and found out a little more about myself. My main love languages are quality time, and then a tie for second is acts of service and receiving gifts. These are extremely accurate. I love spending time with my fiancé, I love traveling and doing things together. I love doing nothing together.

Turns out, his love language is quality time too. I don’t know why I was surprised to see that. We differ in so many ways, but our main ways of expressing love are the same. Our secondary love language of acts of service were also the same, but he favors physical touch over receiving gifts.

I was a little surprised, but I shouldn’t have been. From day one, we loved to travel, go places together, and explore. And as our relationship grew, we enjoyed a lot of alone time just sitting on the couch watching Netflix together.

I love quality time. But I also love when he does things for me because I’m a lazy potato and it means a lot. When it comes to receiving gifts, I do love a good present, but I feel like that’s a love language I treat myself to a lot. I don’t necessarily need a partner to act on that love language frequently, I do it for myself and that makes me happy!

Which I think is another important part of love languages, it’s important to know how you receive love so you can love yourself! Spend quality time with yourself, treat yourself, and do things for yourself that make you feel good. Understanding yourself will help you understand your partner and that’s a win on all ends.

Here’s the quiz I took if you’re interested!

16 thoughts on “My Love Language

  1. Love languages are so fascinating! After I got married, I was talking to my sister-in-law about love languages and she mentioned that hers are different based on the context. At work, she prefers verbal affirmations from her boss and coworkers, but at home, it means more to her when her husband takes initiative on chores and does little things for her. I had never thought about the fact that context changes what we need, but it’s really interesting to think about.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Fascinating post Rosie. I guess we all have different ways of receiving and giving love and that changes with different people. I think giving time is probably the most important though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s